top of page

FATHER'S DAY: My Father and My Heavenly Father

FATHER’S DAY: My Father and My Heavenly Father

The title, My Father My Heavenly Father, sounds like a fable in a children’s story waiting to happen. Generally, we wait for the outcome in having a lesson to learn indicating a moral to the story. My earthly father was involved the action that gave us life initially and our heavenly father is God. Fathers who were apart of giving life in birth may not have always been the fathers who raised, mentored, or assisted with development, but was a parent or parental figure, with presence.

Father, Early Image

The earliest memories of my father were at an in-home service viewing of him lying in a casket surrounded by family members at the age of 4, while I stood looking at the top of the stairs. I could see the people around in quiet communication observing too. What did I know, he had a life given and he lived and passed from the earth. The memory of my aunt or mother holding me, “Saying, that’s your dad,” is a memory to hold. Years after, family shared additional memories to value and hold dear.

God the Father

Growing up in the church has been quite a journey in my relationship with God, the Father. Studying His word in the Holy Bible, has been a lifetime with an evolution of knowledge, wisdom, and understanding. “Seek ye first the kingdom of heaven and his righteousness and all things will be added unto you.” (Matthew 6:33) This is the father I know and am familiar with, ultimately. I have enjoyed the flourishing opportunities based on how God has blessed, and how I have gleaned his presence, favor, and blessing.



The Life Line

Lifeline stories can often teach lessons based on how reception and approach is experienced or extended. Whether father, mother, or guardian, understanding personal roots and passages of origins, allows for future success, understanding, and healing. Knowing how fathers and fatherhood is approached includes considerations of future promises through seeing growth occur in family, associations, and community. If faith within our beliefs matter as we live out God’s word, we who did not grow up with fathers can capture impressions, expressions, and distinctions from church culture based on our godly guidance. God has been, “The Keeper.”

The Keeper

God is the keeper like we hope and expect our earthly father to be, as in Matthew 7:7, 11-12, 9 “Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him! These scripture verses are about care, concern, covering, and highlights God's, presence, protection, and position.



By K. Hatton

P.S. Happy Juneteenth from Texas (19th)

06.19.2023 for June 18, 2023

Verses from Bible Gateway (NIV)



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page